Font Size




Menu Style

Alan Hampson, Senior Editor IRV Journal, Honorary Research Associate, Federation University

hampson pic

Dr Alan Hampson,BSc, MSc, M.D.(Hon), FASM, OAM.

Alan Hampson is a virologist with over 40 years experience working with influenza.  His career spans basic research on influenza, responsibility for developing influenza vaccine production processes and he occupied senior R&D positions (Research & Development Manager) with a major Australian biopharmaceutical organisation.   Then from 1992 until retirement in 2005 he was Deputy Director and operational head of the newly designated WHO Collaborating Centre for Reference and Research on influenza, Melbourne.

Alan has been active in influenza pandemic preparedness planning and response both at the international level as a member of the WHO Pandemic Taskforce (now the International Health Regulations Roster of Experts)and as initiator of pandemic preparedness in Australia with subsequent membership of the relevant Australian national committees. He has participated in a range of WHO technical panels and consultations including those on influenza vaccine formulation and continues to be a member of the Australian Influenza Vaccine Committee.

Since retirement Alan has held various active roles nationally, both as a consultant and as Chairman of the Australian Influenza Specialist Group (ISG), and internationally, with the WHO.  In 2006 he accepted an invitation from the ISIRV board to become the first Editor in Chief of a new international journal ‘Influenza and Other Respiratory Viruses’ and is currently a Senior Editor. He is also an Honorary Research Associate of the Federation University, Victoria, Australia.

Alan was presented with the Asia Pacific Society for Medical Virology Excellence Award (2006), an Honorary Doctorate of Medicine from the University of Melbourne (2006), the Order of Australia Medal for his contributions to public health, particularly with respect to influenza (2007) and was made a Fellow of the Australian Society for Microbiology (FASM) in 2007.