Font Size




Menu Style


isirv Board Members

  Name Institute

Lance Jennings
isirv Chair


John Wood
isirv Deputy Chair
National Institute for Biological Standards and Control (retired), UK


Jackie Katz
isirv Deputy Chair
Deputy Director, Influenza Division, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, USA


Rebecca Cox
isirv Secretary
Professor of Medical Virology and Head of the Influenza Centre, University of Bergen, Norway
Alan Hay 
ISIRV Treasurer & Antiviral Group Chair
Director, WHO Collaborating Centre for Reference and Research on Influenza (retired). Visiting Scientist, Francis Crick Institute, UK.

 Eeva Broberg

Eeva Broberg

Deputy Head of the Influenza and other Respiratory Viruses Disease programme - ECDC, Stockholm

 Cheryl Cohen

Cheryl Cohen

Associate Professor in Epidemiology at the University of Witwatersrand and Co-head of the Centre for Respiratory Disease and Meningitis at the National Institute for Communicable Diseases,South Africa

ben cowling

Benjamin Cowling
(EIC ISIRV Journal)

Professor, WHO Collaborating Centre for Infectious Disease Epidemiology and Control, School of Public Health, The University of Hong Kong

Nancy Cox resized

Nancy Cox

Past Director of the Influenza Division at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) and Director of CDC’s World Health Organization (WHO) Collaborating Center for Surveillance, Epidemiology and Control of Influenza

Rodrigo Fasce
Rodrigo Fasce
Head of Virology Department, Public Health Institute of Chile (PHI).

Greg Gray

NIV Group Chair
Professor at Duke University, at Duke-NUS Medical School in Singapore, and at Duke Kunshan University in China
hampson pic

Alan Hampson

heraud web 

Jean-Michel Héraud


Head, Virology Unit and National Influenza Center, Institut Pasteur from Madagascar, Antananarivio, Madagascar
 Aeron photo

Aeron Hurt

WHO Influenza Collaborating Centre, Melbourne, Australia
Dr Jude Jayamaha NIC Sri Lanka Jude Jayamaha

Consultant Virologist Department of Virology Medical Research Institute, Sri Lanka

Nelson Lee Head and Endowed Professor of Infectious Diseases, Faculty of Medicine, the Chinese University of Hong Kong


Vernon Lee
John McCauley John McCauley
Director of the Worldwide Influenza Centre, Francis Crick Institute,London.
Mario Melgar
Mario Melgar


Emanuele Montomoli


Faculty of Medicine and Surgery, University of Siena, Italy

P Openshaw
Peter Openshaw
International Respiratory Syncytial Virus Society -
Professor of Experimental Medicine,
President - British Society for Immunology,
Imperial College Consul (Clinical), National Heart & Lung Institute

 Barbara Rath

Barbara Rath

Epidemiology Group Chair  (ex-officio)

Co-founder & Chair, Vienna Vaccine Safety Initiative and Honorary Professor, University of Nottingham School of Medicine, UK

  N Sugaya

Norio Sugaya Director, Keiyu Hospital, Yokohama, Japan

 tompkins web

S. Mark Tompkins Associate Professor, Department of Infectious Diseases, University of Georgia, USA

Maria Zambon Small

Maria Zambon Director, Public Health England, UK

 Hassan Zaraket

Hassan Zaraket
Assistant Professor, American University of Beirut


isirv Honorary Vice President

john watson

John Watson Deputy Chief Medical Officer, Department of Health, UK